Iggy Azalea – Work

On March 17, 2013, Australian rapper, Iggy Azalea, released her lead single from her debut album, The New Classic, released April 21, 2014. This song is a tell-tale of what Azalea’s life was like before she started to get big. It gives a look into what she did before, and how she got where she is now. This is a very catchy song that can usually cause a person to sing/rap along or dance.

The song starts off with the lyrics of, “Two feet in the red dirt, school skirt / Sugar cane, back lane / 3 jobs took years to save / But I got a ticket on that plane / People got a lot to say / But don’t know sh*t bout where I was made / Or how many floors that I had to scrub / Just to make it past where I am from.” Highlighted in this verse is how back home she was working three jobs, just to make it past the life she was living to go to Miami to follow her dream.

The chorus, is probably the part that will be stuck in your head, with the lyrics of, “No money, no family. 16 in the middle of Miami. / I’ve been up all night, tryna get that rich / I’ve been work, work, work, work, working on my sh*t / Milked the whole game twice gotta get it how I live / I’ve been work, work, work, work, working on my sh*t / Now get this work / Now get this work / Now get this work / Now get this work / Working on my sh*t.”

Later on in the third verse she talks about the struggle she went through and how she lived out of duffel bags, “Pledge allegiance to the struggle / Ain’t been easy / But cheers to Peezy for the weeks we lived out of duffel / Bags is all we had.”

“Do anything for my Mama, I love you / One day I’ll pay you back / For the sacrifice / That ya managed to muscle / 16 you sent me through customs.” In these lyrics, she tells how at 16 her mother sent her over to Miami.

For this being the lead single off her debut album, Iggy Azalea put out a lot of her personal life and experience into a song, to show listeners that she has put a lot of hard work into getting where she is. The whole song is very catchy and has a very inspirational message.

Lyrics come from: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/iggyazalea/work.html

Official video can be found here: www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zR6ROjoOX0

Rock On!

Alyssa (Rolling Music Reviews)

One thought on “Iggy Azalea – Work

Tell Me Your Thoughts

