Carrie Underwood – Something In The Water

With the release of her first greatest hits album, Greatest Hits: Decade #1, Carrie Underwood released a new single, “Something In The Water”. This new single was released on September 29, 2014. The album Greatest Hits: Decade #1 has songs from her four studio albums, Some Hearts, Carnival Ride, Play On, and Blown Away.

This new single “Something In The Water” is a very emotional song about someones life being changed after they get baptized. This heartfelt country ballad highlights what is said to be what happens after when you get baptized and let yourself believe in religion and the Lord.

In this song, not only do listeners get to hear the emotion behind Underwood’s voice, but she has some strong notes that push the song over the limit.

We start the song off with the lyrics of, ‘“He said, “I’ve been where you’ve been before. / Down every hallway’s a slamming door. / No way out, no one to come and save me. / Wasting a life that the Good Lord gave me,’”. This is saying how this person was getting all the doors slammed in their face, and how they say it as they were wasting away the life that was given to them by the Lord.

The song then moves into the part that tells what happened for this person to have changed their ways and changed their life around, “So I followed that preacher man down to the river and now I’m changed / And now I’m stronger / There must’ve been something in the water,”.

When we move into the second verse we get a better look into this persons life and how they dealt with the baptismal and how it changed them, “‘Well, I heard what he said and I went on my way / Didn’t think about it for a couple of days / Then it hit me like a lightning late one night / I was all out of hope and all out of fight / Couldn’t fight back the tears so I fell on my knees / Saying, “God, if you’re there come and rescue me.” / Felt love pouring down from above”’

Overall this is a very touching song about how much religion can change someones life.

Lyrics provided by: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/carrieunderwood/somethinginthewater.html

Official audio here on YouTube: www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVEHJ9C-H9I

Rock On!

Alyssa (Rolling Music Reviews)

One thought on “Carrie Underwood – Something In The Water

Tell Me Your Thoughts

