Bring Me The Horizon – Drown

On October 21, 2014, british metalcore band Bring Me The Horizon, released the music video for the first single off their upcoming fifth studio album. This single is called Drown. Fans of the band went wild when they first listened to this song. Now this song is a little different from the established sound of BMTH that we have heard in the past. Most of their previous work has very heavy guitars, bass and drums, and a lot of unclean vocals. Now instead of the music being heavy, the message that the lyrics convey is heavy.

The song has more of a rock feel, and more clean vocals compared to unclean ones. Oli Sykes’ voice has a more raw sound, this causes emotion to come flooding out with the lyrics.

The song is mainly talking about a persons battle with something that is eating them up. This can range from a battle with chronic depression to a battle with drugs.

The lyrics highlight the feeling of being dragged down by your battle and wanting someone to bring you out and to save you, “And the weight of the worlds getting harder to hold up / It comes in waves / I close my eyes / Hold my breath / And let it bury me / I’m not ok / And it’s not alright / Won’t you drag the lake and bring me home again / Who will fix me now? / Dive in when I’m down? / Save me from myself / Don’t let me drown / Who will make me fight? / Drag me out alive? / Save me from myself /Don’t let me drown,” (www.songtexte.com). When you are feeling like you are falling and that you are being beaten by your battle, you just need someone to save you from your inner self and inner demons.

The bridge of the song highlights that when you are in an internal battle, it is hard for you to pull yourself, “’Cuz you know that I can’t do this on my own. / (You know that I can’t do this on my own) / Who will fix me now?” (www.songtexte.com).

Many people that listen to this song find it very easy to relate to the lyrics in some personal way. Whether they have experienced, something like a battle, or they know someone who has, or they feel weighed down by something in their life.

Some of the lyrics highlight that what doesn’t kill you, leaves you broken and wishing that you were dead. This message, starts at the beginning of each verse, “What doesn’t kill you / Makes you wish you were dead,” (www.songtexte.com), “What doesn’t destroy you / leaves you broken instead,” (www.songtexte.com).

This whole song conveys a deep and powerful message about people who are going through a battle are feeling. The instruments, the vocals, and the lyrics put together, all convey emotion to the listener and in some way bring them into a different thought process of the struggles of internal battles and demons.

For anyone who is scared to listen to this song due to their prior knowledge of the metalcore band, they do not need to fear, as there is no loud vocals or screaming guitars. This song is majority rock, with a ton of emotion.

Here is the link to the official video on YouTube: www.youtube.com/watch?v=TkV5709EG5M

Rock On!

Alyssa (Rolling Music Reviews)

One thought on “Bring Me The Horizon – Drown

Tell Me Your Thoughts

