Maroon 5 – Animals

Animals, is the second single off the fifth studio album V from Maroon 5, and was released on August 22, 2014. This song, to me is a crazy way to proclaim your love for someone. In all reality, I really do not even know if this could even be considered a love song…I would say it is pretty much talking about stalking, or obsession. But again thats my opinion.

The song has a great pop beat with a really catchy tune and lyrics. Adam Lavigne really does a wonderful job at hitting those high notes. Like whoa.

So going with these ‘different’ lyrics, we start off with the chorus, “Baby, I’m preying on you tonight / Hunt you down eat you alive / Just like animals, animals, like animals-mals / Maybe you think that you can hide / I can smell your scent for miles / Just like animals, animals, like animals-mals,” (www.azlyrics.com). Now that’s a little weird don’t you think…maybe it is just me. But the whole lyric of hunting her down…i’m just saying.

Along with what I said earlier about stalking and obsession, this is mainly what I am talking about, “you can start over, you can run free / You can find other fish in the sea / You can pretend it’s meant to be / But you can’t stay away from me,” (www.azlyrics.com). With that there is also, “So if I run it’s not enough / You’re still in my head forever stuck / So you can do what you wanna do / I love your lies, I’ll eat ’em up / But don’t deny the animal / That comes alive when I’m inside you,” (www.azlyrics.com). That to me is a tad bit creepy. Catchy, but creepy.

No disrespect to the writers or to the band, but, come on…it is slightly weird. Thats my opinion, you might have a different opinion. Thats cool. Catchy song but weird lyrics….

See for yourself here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BJ3ZXpserc

Rock On!

Alyssa (Rolling Music Reviews)

One thought on “Maroon 5 – Animals

Tell Me Your Thoughts

